Future Veggie Garden

A few days ago, I shared with you one of the projects hubby and I will be working on in the month of September… the Kitchen.  Here’s a quick update on the Kitchen before I share photos and details around the pool portion of our transformation project (which will ultimately be transformed into my veggie garden). 

With our kitchen project officially kicking off this coming weekend, a swift kick in the nether-region may be needed to get me to make a decision on the paint I’ll be using for the cabinets. Tick tock, tick tock. See, I LOVE the cottage-style of decorating (have for eons).  The loose slipcovers, chippy painted furniture (not too chippy please), the comfortable casual feel.  It’s so warm and inviting.

Here's Ginger, my Flame-Point Himalayan, enjoying her cottage setting. Cottage and Kitties... a match made in heaven.

 

And of course, Max, my Lynx-Point Himalayan, lounging on his cottage-inspired chippy furniture. Behind him is a plein-air painting I did a few years back while attending a workshop on Ortega Highway near San Juan Capistrano, California.

Anyway, before I get lost in “cottage-land” let me get to my point…

In keeping with my decorating style, I want to lightly distress the painted cabinets in the kitchen and I’ve been reading about a new paint product that some of the popular vintage design blogs have been raving about.  Typically, I’m fairly immune to “ravings and following trends”, but as an artisit with experience in painting furniture, I do have to say that this new product has peaked my interest. The paint is called Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint (ASCP). It’s pretty pricey, but I think I may give it a try.  I’d also like to purchase some milk paint (another popular paint product used to achieve an authentic vintage look) and compare the results, but it may not be in the budget.  My final word on Chalk Paint… the jury’s still out on that one, but I’ll be sure to give you an update. 

Pool Demo Project

When we first saw the house, we knew the pool area was the perfect location for a veggie garden.  It had plenty of room, it was completely enclosed, and, oh yeah, it had a pool.  A very large one at that. From day one, our intention was to rid ourselves of this water guzzling monster.  The decision was an easy one… we’d had a pool before so “been there done that” with the expense, time and money thing, the pool equipment was MIA, electricity to the pool had been severed near the electrical box, the water source was a mystery… there was what looked like a possible water line outside of the pool area going to the pool, but it wasn’t functioning, and then there was the missing slide.  Someone hacked away at the metal bars holding the slide to the decking in order to remove the slide.  Fine by us.  It was one less thing we needed to demo.

Here's the view of our future veggie garden from our kitchen window.

While we were digging holes for our fruit trees, we decided to dump some of the “un-useable” soil directly into the pool area.  The dirt was placed on the steps so it would be out of the way when hubby started to jack hammer holes into the bottom of the pool area.

This tool worked like a champ drilling holes in the pool.  Luckily, he did most of this work while the weather was still fairly cool.  There were a few days when he was doing the last few holes that it was too warm to bear.

Yup, that thar’s a lot of drillin’!  Listen to me, talking as if I jack hammered the holes.  This project could only be accomplished by one person and that was my sweetheart.  Though I provided the occasional cold drink and took a snapshot or two, this was all my hubby’s handiwork.  Thank you sweetie for sparing me the jittery arms 🙂

I know, there’s just a ton of holes, but we wanted to make certain that the city inspector would be satisfied with the drainage. And he was.

Next steps, sweep aside the loose cement pieces and fill the holes with small rock, cover with landscape fabric to keep the debris out of the holes (actually it was the inspector’s suggestion to use the landscape fabric) then begin the filling process with a few feet deep of small rock (about 6 ml). Fun, fun, fun! All in a day’s work.

May you have a truly blessed day,

The Artistic Desert Gardener

4 Comments

Filed under Garden Projects

4 responses to “Future Veggie Garden

  1. jeremy

    Mind if I ask where you found your little jack hammer and what brand it is? I am looking for one to dig holes for my fruit trees. Also I have seen some that come with a 4″ shovel attachment, is that what you guys use to dig up holes for your trees?

  2. mark Kerckhoff

    Wow April:
    Hubby is one tough guy. His Jack hammer was not the largest one I’ve seen used for that type of job. Can’t wait to see the additional progress . Glad you passed inspection.

    • Hi Mark,

      Thank you for the comment 🙂 Yup, hubby is one tough guy. Nothing flashy or grandeur about our little jack hammer, but we got a great deal on it. Most importantly, it’s pretty powerful and it gets the job done. We also used it to dig the holes for our fruit trees.

Your Comments Are Always Welcome

