31 Days To a More Creative Life

Fall is a great time for new beginnings!

To celebrate the changing of the seasons, and the gazillion of other life changes happening right now in my life, I’ve decided to participate in a 31 day series hosted by eight blogger friends . This year, the circle of blog friends invited readers to participate in their annual series.  The project: “write for 31 days in a row on a subject you are passionate about”. Wow, to be a part of a community sharing something that’s near and dear to your heart.  Sign me up! 

The timing is so perfect for a challenge like this.  See, over the past few months, I’ve been planning to kick-off the “artistic” portion of my Artistic Desert Gardener blog, but I’ve been finding it tough to get started.  Where do I begin? My mind has been so focused on our transformation project and getting things “fixed and livable” around here for the past two years, turning the “switch” from DIY-mode to artistic-mode has been slow going; truthfully, too slow for my liking.

With all the DIY-in’ around here and lack of fun playtime, my energy levels and motivation have been waning terribly.  Now, don’t get me wrong… I love to DIY around my house and garden area, but doing this day-in and day-out for two long years, well, gets a little old and just the thought of jumping head first into a big art project makes me feel tired.  It makes me sad, too.  Here I am an artist and the last thing I want to do is think about creating something.  How sad is that!?!  Let this be a lesson to all of you reading this… the old adage is true… “all work and no play makes (in this case) April a dull chick-y”.  At this point, I am not worried about the opposite becoming true, “All play and no work makes April a mere toy”.  It would be nice for a while though.  Just even admitting that is a definite sign that I need a “creative” change in my life and quick! 

How about you? Are you ready to take the “work gloves” of life off and get busy fulfilling your desire to be more creative in your life?  I most definitely am.

With that said, it’s time to remedy the situation.  I think in this case, “slow but sure” will be my motto.  Even saying the words “s-l-o-w but sure” relieves some of the stress I’m feeling.  What better way to do this than to launch a new 31-day series in a manageable step-by-step approach.  Yup, sounds do-able to me… “31 days to a more Creative Life”. I like it!

Now, during this time of rediscovery, the fact of the matter is, I still have responsibilities and tons of DIY projects to complete around the house.  So floating away on an imaginary creative cloud into la-la land is just far from my reality.  What is more realistic is making time to reconnect with what makes me, well… ME.   No more stuffing it away, putting it on a shelf for another day, or no more ignoring the heart-strings that at first were gently tugging at my heart and have now resorted to a full on YANKING motion. Like you, my quest is to find “balance” between my creative needs and my responsibilities.

Before I begin, it’s important to note that I just about missed this wonderful opportunity. On top of everything else going on in my life, I am a self-professed perfectionist and obsessively self-controlled individual (if you guessed I meant to say “anal”, you’d be spot on). This can be good and this can be bad in the “artistic world” (or in any world really).  For this challenge, the results could have been another missed opportunity to open the creative door to my life.  Since the announcement of this challenge a few weeks ago, I was intrigued by the notion of it all.  Then, days of indecision turned into weeks and then suddenly, the eve of the challenge’s launch was upon me and all I had done was contemplate my overall topic, an incomplete thought really. For someone who’s so serious about being more creative, what was causing me to drag my feet?  Yup, that darned ole lack of motivation and energy.  It’s a big one, but it’s even a much bigger excuse.  I WANT to change this. I NEED to change this.   So, late last night, the first thing I did was to finalize my topic, jot down a few ideas for daily subjects and then it happened.  I actually “created” something… my button using Adobe Illustrator and Photoshop. Kudos to the hosts of this event ~ you inspired me to take my first step to being more creative 🙂  With that said, because of my procrastination (admittedly a trait that can accompany perfectionism), I will be posting Day 1 of my 31-day series later tonight; I have just a little catching up to do.

To make it easier for you to follow along (or to catch up in your reading), I have placed a link button on my home page (left side of the page) which links to my 31-day series page.  You can also use the “30 Days to…”  link at the top of my header to reach the same page.  On the 31-day series page, I will list out, by day, my subject titles and links to each page.

So, if you’re ready to follow along on my 31 day journey (I’d love to have you join me), then let’s kick off our “work boots of life” and get those creative juices flowing!

Go to the next post in my series: Day 1: Let Go

God Bless,

2 Comments

Filed under Art & Creativity

2 responses to “31 Days To a More Creative Life

  1. Lois Zablockis

    I love your chicken picture. They look like they are enjoying the chicky life. Keep the drawings coming.

Your Comments Are Always Welcome

