Day 1: Let Go

Have you had a chance to read my introduction?

Okay, I’ve rushed to get things “pulled together” for my 31-day series so I could keep a commitment to myself to allow a new creative door to swing wide open… now what?

I think a good next step is to take stock of where you are right now in your creative life. Please, whatever you do, avoid putting too much energy into this and by all means… do not make a list about it. It’s just helpful to give it a quick once over so you have an opportunity to be honest with yourself.

While you’re doing this little exercise, be gentle with yourself.  It’s so easy for us to get all caught up in our “stuff”.  If you feel your creative life can use a boost… you’re in the right place.  Just remember to breathe and understand that it’s no one’s fault really.  It’s just life getting in the way and making it challenging to find time to nurture creativity properly.  Life, especially these days, will always promote practical things before creative things.

Now, if you’re one of the fortunate few who have navigated life successfully to become a creative “rock star”, generating enough crafts and art goodies to fill at least one football stadium, I say to you, “Rock On!” But for those of you creative groupies out there, like me, who have had their creative lives held hostage, for whatever reason, I say to you, “There is hope!  Together, we will step over our obstacles one baby step at a time”.

An important first step to a more creative life is to let go.  Let go of fears. Let go of worry and anger. Here’s another couple of big ones… let go of resentment and bitterness. Let go of trying to control life.  And definitely let go of constant dreaming versus doing.  JUST LET IT GO.  Who cares if you’ve been carrying this stuff around with you for 20+ years.  Has it helped, in any way, to get you even one step closer to a more creative life? I say, throw it out with the trash, and do it with gusto!  A great way to do this is by…  1) getting off the woulda-coulda-shoulda train and give your baggage to God, and 2) Forgive yourself.

1 Peter 5:7
Give all your worries and cares to God, for he cares about you.”

What does this mean… liberation, baby!  That simple?  YES.  Now if you find that you let go today and the negativity and worry comes back tomorrow, well, you need to continue to pray about this everyday and stop the negative thoughts in its tracks.  I find it extremely helpful when I start having negative self-talk or thoughts to stop what I’m doing and thinking and read the bible for a few minutes and say a quick prayer.  Get my mind on God.  It really does help.

I feel achieving this balance is an important key to opening yourself up to all the creative possibilities around you.  Including time to do whatever it is you absolutely love to do.  It’s a place where your creative-self, thoughts, etc. can co-exist with everyday life.

Now, for you creative rock stars. God loves to hear about our accomplishments, our joys in life and our thankfulness.  You may probably already know this. So remember to make a point to praise him for your good fortune and creative prowess.

How’s your creative health today? Are you ready to open yourself up to the creative opportunities in your life?

Go to the next post in my series: Day 2: Define Your Creative Life.

May God bless you beyond your wildest dreams!

3 Comments

Filed under Art & Creativity

3 responses to “Day 1: Let Go

  1. I was hopping over for a belated thank you for the well wishes and prayers for my little guy. He is doing so much better. I happened upon this series which I think is beautiful! (I’ve only made it through the first two posts so far.) This post says so much of my heart in my “do” post tonight. Wish I would have read it sooner! Two weeks ago, I got down on my knees and begged God to show me where I’m supposed to go and I’m not kidding you, the very next day, He answered…and there wasn’t a bit of second guessing! On another note, your Max looks so much like my Jack only his lynx markings aren’t as dark and his eyes aren’t nearly as blue. They are an aqua blue in the center, rimmed with a creamy yellow. I didn’t realize it at the time, but I was given a very sick little kitten and the vet and I are doing our best to get him well! I have another appointment first thing in the morning as I think the URI is now pneumonia despite two different courses of antibiotics over the past 3 weeks. Poor fella. I was just noticing how healthy both Max & Ginger look…Do you have any tips or secrets for minimizing tear stains? Anyhow, thank you again so much for the sweet and thoughtful note.

  2. Lois Zablockis

    I like your positive attitude.

Your Comments Are Always Welcome

