Good To See You Ole Friend

_MG_6775It’s been about three months since my last post and I must say… “I have r-e-a-l-l-y missed updating you about the happenings, and mishaps, on our little piece of homestead heaven here in the Mojave desert”.

Where have I been?  Working my toushie off that’s where.  Trust me when I say that my words are the furthest thing from a complaint.  If I have to sum it up in one word, it’s been, well…  WONDERFUL!  These past couple of months I have felt more like a productive contributor rather than an inactive observer.  It’s been a little over a year and a half since I’ve been able to say that.  Insane, right?

As most of you know, I’ve been dealing with some bizarre debilitating health issues that a number of medical experts have been unable to cure let alone diagnose. The conventional medicines I was given were more problematic than helpful, so I turned to homeopathic medicine and acupuncture.  I’ve also been following a very strict eating plan consisting of… fruits and veggies, chicken and eggs (here and there), salmon, lots of brown rice, low sodium chicken broth, honey and almond milk. Oh, of course, purchasing organic whenever possible. Absent from my diet are… wheat/gluten, dairy products, spicy foods/seasonings, chocolate, and sugar.  My recovery has been snail-trail slow but remarkably steady.

Now that I’ve hinted to my whereabouts and given a quick medical update… let’s catch up. I hope you’ve been having an enjoyable summer during my absence and doing what you l-o-v-e.  I’d really like to know what you’ve been up to and how you are doing in your neck of the woods.

Since we last connected…

  • Hubby and I were finally able to take in a couple of movies (it’s been over a year and a half since we stepped foot in a movie theater). This average event in most people’s lives was a HUGE deal for me.  We were also able to spend time with family ~ which by the way, made my day 🙂
  • We now have a real kitchen counter top and sink (woo hoo!).  I painted, lightly distressed and sealed two stock cabinets we purchased for the sink area.  Love the relaxed “homey” feel to it. Besides having a nice big sink to wash my fruits and veggies in, it just feels like I’ve come home every time I walk up to my new sink area.  Do you have an area of your home that does this for you?

2013_AG_Template_LandscapeHere’s a before photo

030810_Kitchen_3

Though we still have a lot of repair work to do in the kitchen, hubby and I continue to work in “small sections” as our limited budget allows.  Lots of patience in combination with a lot of penny-pinching and a slow and steady pace does get the job done!

  • During my absence, I’ve also been tending to my orchard.  With the help of our bees, our harvest has been, well… supercalafragalisticexpealadocious!  Seriously, we’ve had our hands overflowing with fruit this year.

Flavor Delight Aprium Flavor Delight ApriumArtic Star Nectarine Artic Star NectarineSantaRosaPlum SaturnPeach Figs FlavorQueenPluot FlavorKingPluotOur apples from our Golden Dorsett tree were a bust this year.  We had a large number of apples, but every single one had something wrong with it.  A disease, perhaps?  Goes with the territory.  We will be harvesting Asian Pears within the next few weeks and in October, we’ll be harvesting Pink Lady Apples and Pomegranates 🙂

  • This incredible mother-load of fruit has also attracted every bird and insect in the state.  At least it seems that way. To combat our cleverly persistent winged foes, hubby and I erected a structure to hold bird netting in place. Have you ever tried to place bird netting directly on a tree?  With our winds in the desert, it gets all tangled up in the trees ripping off precious fruit spurs and branches in addition to damaging the exact same fruit we’re trying to protect.  Also, trying to harvest is no picnic either.  I’ll give you more details on the bird netting structure we put together in a future post. I have a plan of action for defending our trees from the attacks of unwanted guests (okay, pesky bugs) for next year’s harvest season.
  • And if we didn’t already have enough to do, we put together a couple of raised beds and have been growing veggies.

RaisedBeds SeedlingsSo if you thought I was ignoring you or sleeping on the “blog job”, think again.  Just been a smidge bit busy on the ole desert homestead.

God Bless! …and be sure to grow something

AG_Signature_Color_Transparent

Leave a comment

Filed under desert gardening, Fruit Trees/Orchard, Home Projects

Your Comments Are Always Welcome

